Homemade holidays wrap-up

2 Jan

It’s a while since I’ve posted, and Christmas is fast fading behind, but while it’s still part of the twelve nights I thought I might post some things I made.

A mosaic table for mum and dad, the design kind of inspired by Margaret Preston lino-cuts, with a Sturt Desert Pea in the corner.

A little felt chook that Father Christmas brought F.

Some packets of gingerbread and almond bread all wrapped up (there wasn’t much almond bread in the end, as one tin fell from it’s “Safe Place” on top of the fridge, and became almond bread crumbs)

Wet felted scarf for Greta. (similar to one I made for H’s playgroup teacher)

Watercolour gift tags, cut out of one of H’s beautiful paintings.

Somehow I didn’t end up making much for my own dear hearts, but nothing I could have made would have brought as much joy as the shiny red scooter Father Christmas left in H’s stocking, so what can you do?

3 Responses to “Homemade holidays wrap-up”

  1. anna January 7, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Such beautiful gifts you made! I love the felty chicken especially :).

  2. Lu January 7, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Such beautiful gifts! I bet they were received with much gratitude.

  3. rebecca neafus January 7, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Hi,I found you on Natural Suburbia.I too didn’t get to make much for my grandkiddos like I planned. There is never enough time to do it all.But I loved your mosaic,it’s been years since I did any mosaic work but I did enjoy it a lot.I am so into felt at present,(loved your chicken)….who knows about tomorrow,I tend to be a crafty addict so I jump around to wherever my passions take me.
    Rebecca

Leave a Reply

